Living in the Moment

“Living in the moment
Living our life
Easy and breezy
With peace in my mind
With peace in my heart
Peace in my soul
Wherever I’m going, I’m already home.”

This is the chorus to a song by Jason Mraz that popped into my head while walking to class this morning. Definitely one of my favorites and very fitting for my stay here in CR.

This week has been a full one. Monday we had class as usual and a Latina cultural dance class as well. Now we all know how I feel about dancing! So you know I got my cha cha on! We learned to salsa, cha cha, some specialty Costa Rican dances and a few others. Mucho bailar!

Image

On Tuesday a few classmates and I had to perform the three little pigs I was cerdito número dos. (piglet #2) then after class I hopped on the bus and headed into San Jose with some friends. San Jose is definitely very different from Heredia. It’s almost like a latin New York City. Mucho gente.

Image

Image

Yesterday I was very excited to play futbol! The group and I rented out an indoor soccer facility and played for a couple hours.

Image

(Now, Dad you know I fell down a couple times haha, I really don’t know what it is about me and soccer fields. That  turf was slippery….yeah.. well go with that! But it made me laugh…just like old times.)

ImageThe group

Afterwards we all decided to celebrate our awesome 6 to 6 tie and go out together.  Cerveza  por favor!

Today  I went to class and afterwards went home for lunch and while eating it started to rain. Normal, everyday rain at first and then crazy fast rain poured down. My Tico parents and I just sat and watched it for a while. The street quickly became a fast moving river and they explained to me that, that kind of weather is rare here. I had both dogs in my arms as they shaked nervously at the thunder and hail. The power went out so my Tico parents and I walked down the street to the Panaderia and bought a few postres to enjoy in the candle light…muy romantica they said.

IMG_4563

Entonces yo fui a la mall to try and find some wi-fo to call the momma (Hey Mom) and while there I rain into a few TX friends and it started to hail and pour again so what better way to wait out the rain then have a cerveza. Now I am home, the rain has stopped and all is tranquillo.

Tomorrow starts our free weekend so everyone is headed in different directions to explorer something new.

I hope you all have a relaxing fun filled weekend. I appreciate all of your comments and I am so glad you are all enjoying the blog.

Con Paz.

Sierra

P.S. Something nice to share:

This past Monday in class our professor taught us a popular saying in Costa Rica. “Dejamos lo importante para atender  lo urgente.” This means we leave behind the important to attend to the urgent. When he said this it really stuck with the class. Everyone began scribbling this saying down and listening intently as the professor told us how important it is to take care of the important things rather than running around for the urgent things. He told us the story about the good samaritan in the bible and we were all very moved by his lecture. While handling the urgent we many a times miss the important things right in front of us. Simple but frequently forgotten.

2 thoughts on “Living in the Moment

  1. Really enjoyed your blog about your week. It is very entertaining and illuminating. I love the statement about urgency and importance and the reference to the Good Samaritan. Love you, Sierra, and miss you but know you are where you need to be.

Leave a Reply

