Now

            I decided this semester the blogfull adventures don’t have to stop just because I am back in the states. I don’t know how frequently I will do this but maybe every now and then I will feel inclined to write about some college experiences on here. Some days i have thoughts like, why would I write a blog, who really cares but then there are other days like today where for some reason it feels like a good idea. So here are my thoughts today… enjoy if you feel like it, you won’t hurt my feelings at all if you hit that nice little x in the corner either. Here’s to, “offering others what we have to give.” Mitch Albom

          I think, the truth is most of of our lives are spent pondering the past and planning the future. Sometimes planning can be fun, I’m at fault here, I do it all the time. We can call it dreaming, thats a bit more glittery. Sounds better. I’m just dreaming…but bottom line is I think, you think, we all think too much. We have those days where we worry if we are being seen by others the way we want to be. Or think we should be seen. Then there are the moments in those days and weeks when we’re like forget that….I’m me. Or as my brothers license plate actually says…”be you”. Regardless of anything, thoughts, people, etc. In every moment be yourself.When I am at my most optimistic this is really easy. But still most of the time we think, think about everything. Nine times out of ten we over think everything. What I’ve learned from all of this thinking is it takes us out of the present. It takes us out of the moment we are in. It’s like texting a friend while you are at dinner with another friend. You’re constantly splitting your attention between something there and not there. Why we do this I don’t know.

          Ralph Waldo Emerson one of the greatest American poets says it simply.”With the past, I have nothing to do; nor with the future. I live now.” I wish we did this more. I don’t like talking and mulling over the past or spending to much time dreaming about a future that I am not guaranteed. Yes, have goals and work towards them but don’t let it be your main focus all the time. Instead let the focus be on each individual day. Each individual moment. No matter what you’re doing. If it’s a lazy day, be lazy, take that nap and enjoy it. If you’re at work, be at work. Or if your with a friend put your phone and thoughts down and be with that friend. This summer I really learned that all we really have is “today”. We woke up, the sun rose and here we are. So this year I am going to make more of an effort to focus on each day. Try a little harder to be here in each present moment. Even if thats sitting in a doctors waiting room, or lazily laying around my apartment like a bum. I’m going to do more of what makes me happy and follow Ralph Waldo’s advice to live now. So, here’s to today! 

Image

For a little inspiration, here is a picture of my awesome Dad sky diving. He looks like he is pretty present in that moment. 

Have a good day,

Sierra 

One thought on “Now

  1. Bless you, Sierra, it is not easy to live in the moment. I am as guilty as the next person to talk of the past and plan for the future. However, to live in the present is to take life as it comes to us and attempt to make the most of each and every day. Also, to appreciate each task and opportunity that come our way. Love you, sweetheart, Nanny

Leave a Reply

