Hot Coffee Culprit

Good Morning!

 

I remember when I had my first sip of coffee I was a freshman in College at Texas State University. & like that I was hooked. As the years went on I graduated college with at least one piping hot cup of coffee a day under my belt. Until now, if you’re reading this maybe you have suffered from stomach pain and are searching for answers well this may be it. It seemed that around age 22 everything I ate hurt my stomach. Sand-whiches, salads, coffee, meat I couldn’t do anything right. As a person that worked hard to pick out the right food and eat healthy nutritional foods I was pretty surprised. It felt like every morning after I had coffee I would have to lay down because my stomach was cramping and hurting so bad. Until I realized coffee was the culprit. The high acidity in coffee was killing my stomach lining and making it hard for my body to break down even the simplest of foods without pain. So I said Goodbye very suddenly and easily to coffee and went full on Yerbamate tea. It wasn’t fun and it wasn’t easy but my stomach grew better almost immediately and I didn’t ever want to go back. About 9 months of no coffee I was at a coffee shop one day drinking tea when the barista told me that his stomach also hurt from coffee but not if he drank cold brew. Cold brew coffee since it is brewed over night slowly and at a cold temperature it has barely 1/10th the acidity of regular hot coffee. I immediately had to try it. I bought a french press and had my first cup the next day. NO PAIN! I was so happily surprised. I can even heat it up to make it feel like I have a hot fresh cup of brew. I still wish I could turn on the coffee maker in the morning and smell that fresh coffee aroma fill the house, but some things in life just aren’t meant to be and if you have even the tiniest issue with coffee don’t let it ruin your coffee obsession just brew it cold!

 

Leave a Reply

