Springing into Spring 2017

Spring is known for its characteristics of “rebirth” as we all storm Home Depot’s nursery and sow seeds into new soil. A little water and a little sunshine do more for us than just bring out the sprigs of our latest garden friends. The porch door hangs open and the breeze blows soft kisses on my face as I breathe in all the freshness that comes with late March. This spring I am excited to plant new seeds in my life to help the following years bloom into a beautiful and colorful adventure. Having just given my notice at City Wide Mechanical I am going to take a small break from the 9-5 to travel. First stop is Colorado for some much needed hiking and mountain air then I’m off to Budapest, Austria and Prague to explore a few new countries and gain a soon to be very grateful experience with my grandma. I feel so thankful for my experiences at City Wide and am really fortunate to have the ability to take a little break. When I return I am going to take my time to find the right next company to plant myself in. Having worked now in what I consider both extremes, the fast paced, balls to the wall, 70+ hour work weeks and the slow, tough to fill the day with tasks, 40 or less hour work weeks. Something I always believed but didn’t fully come to know was how important culture is in a company. It’s not so much what you do and where you do it as much as it is who you are working with. Culture is everything it’s what creates the buzz around you, the energy, laughs, high fives and positive environment that you spend more time at then you do at home. Of course, I want to enjoy my work but I more so want to enjoy the people I surround myself with. As someone who prides herself on getting along with everyone I never thought this would be an issue for me but then I came to realize you can get along with everyone but you still may not feel like you fit in that particular culture or company. That’s not a bad thing, it’s just knowledge that you may fit better in a different environment. We are all fueled and energized differently.  I strive to be diligent and thorough in my task of finding the right next fit. I want to find a balance between feeling utilized but not deflated. Between checking emails on the weekends and leaving work at work. I think the next couple months are going to be as rejuvenating as the smell of spring promises but also tough as I make hard decisions and begin to work through what I’ve learned to find that right next organization. I am excited though, and I know I can do this! Opportunities don’t often happen, we create them!

I’ll keep these in mind as I search and create.

“Our finest moments are most likely to occur when we are feeling deeply uncomfortable, unhappy, or unfulfilled. For it is only in such moments, propelled by our discomfort, that we are likely to step out of our ruts and start searching for different ways or truer answers.” – M. Scott Peck

“Find out what you like doing best, and get someone to pay you for it.” Katherine Whitehorn

 

-Sierra 16179297_10158081675020585_6251992831607954540_o

2 thoughts on “Springing into Spring 2017

Leave a comment